One way traffic

By Mobius

Yellow

..Daffodil Road

follow the yello
you may feel more mellow
let your feelings and awareness
take you away from your pain
let you escape from the background strain

Poem 2 - Language of Pain Steering Group

We had our first web meeting today and were tasked to introduce ourselves to the group in a creative way, saying what we would bring to the group and what we would get out. 5 minutes each.

People used drawings, collections of objects, a video of drawing their pain, a collage all very different, and that's the point. Me being me I was the only person to directly answer the brief. That's neither better nor worse than others - just different and demonstrates our diversity, which is important

I choose to use a poem in order to get all my points across, but started with a star jump, and a flamboyant bow.

Here's the poem..

            ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Part I – Me: Hello and my Pain
 
Hello my name is Rob
I’m looking forward to working with you
On this exciting project; it’s not a “job”
 
I’m married with two children, one still at home
I also have a grandson  “The King” is how he’s known
We’re lucky to live in a village, in Notts near Southwell
It’s cathedral the Minster, contributes to me feeling well
 
I enjoy much culture, particularly music, film and art
I’m off to watch modern dance tonight
It’s my first time, hoping it’ll be alright
 
My pain’s caused by emotional suppression,
mental and physical stress from work
my physiology,
my  anger at injustice both social and to our EartH
 
My pain is medically labelled with various terms
Functional Movement Disorder, Depression and Dystonia,
PACE - ing my energy Is key to my health
That’s Physical, Acceptance, Cognitive and Emotional
As is movement (mindful or not),
Stretching, distractions releasing my inner child
Nature and helping others also help
 
Part II - Steering Group: Me & You
 
What can I contribute in working with you?
I’m open and warm and not afraid to let myself go
You may think me foolish, but that’s ok
I’ll enjoy and embrace whatever you do and say
hopefully you’ll thrive off that – hey!
 
I have my own style of creativity, I do structure and analyse
though working through my inner child may better open up our eyes   
My individual pain experience and my personality is unique as is yours,
so hopefully that will open up some doors
I’ve had assistance, advice and programmes from the NHS
but also from charitable groups set up to help us
Most of all hopefully I’ll quickly help make you feel safe and free
So that you’re inspired and reflect and enjoy like me.
 
In return what will I get from working with you?
I’ll enjoy being invited into your world, reflecting and learning from what you say and do
I’ll enjoy being part of your project journey, which hopefully likewise you will too.
Being part of a diverse team working towards a common goal, or goals
Satisfaction in our achievement whatever it may be
Perhaps in improving recognition, visibility or understanding of pain
Or to help others on a similar journey in future too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.