Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Shortcut

This morning I had a couple of meetings in St Andrew's House which is a bit unusual on a parliamentary day. From Parliament, there's a handy shortcut we can use which involves a 15 minute walk through a close and up the hill coming out on the eastern side of St Andrew's House. I sometimes wonder how those who live in this very pretty close actually feel about a succession of civil servants and Ministers trailing in and out throughout the day!

On the other hand, this close seems to be on some kind of tourist trail as there's a small circular sign embedded into the ground at the Canongate end marking it on a PhotoTrail. That's the furthest end from where I took this photo & when I had a look from the Canongate end I think I made the right choice :-).

It is of course, the way the Royal Mile works - but not just the Royal Mile. I suspect a lot of tourists miss out on the delights of many small towns including Crieff, when they don't head off up the lanes, vennels, closes etc which litter our urban landscape!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.