Technophobe

By Technophobe

Catching oysters

We decided to have a day at the coast. We'd never really been to Maryport so that was our first stop. We wanted to go to the Roman museum there but it was closed. Looks really interesting though and the old name for the Roman area is Alauna which is the same as our home town which is Alcester. I think it just means Roman Fort or town or Camp.
We went down to the harbour and had a lovely sandwich there for lunch. 
I was puzzled as to why there appear to be loads and loads of houses there but we saw no shops or shopping area. I assume we just didn't drive along the right street.
We didn't go to the aquarium because I hadn't put enough time on the car park.
After that we drove up the coast a bit to see if we could spot Oystercatchers. The tide was right in so I thought we might not see them as I presume they grovel around the receding water looking for their lunch. 
Near Allonby we saw a huge number of them resting on the sand waiting patiently for the tide to turn. Unfortunately I couldn't get very close because there was a tidal stream  between me and them and I hadn't got waders on!

Extra . Maryport harbour

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.