TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

The question of the extra chromium and cobalt

To the hospital for 9:30 for the follow-up appointment with Dr. Kim. Apparently, the chromium and cobalt levels in my blood are very high and we need to understand why. What does it all mean? Hopefully, there will be a way of removing the particles naturally. Not sure whether exercise exacerbates the issue – the increased shedding of the existing prosthetic may well do that.
 
Anyway, Michael Fields, the surgeon’s fellow, had many of the answers. Apparently, the figures, while high, and not “outrageously high”, but I could still go on the list for a revision if I wanted. It depends on me, he said, and how the levels of pain are. If it gets bad while I am resting, then that might be the sign for an op. I’ve booked a follow-up for February 27, and we’ll see at that time.
 
The rest of the day was spent in quiet celebration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.