If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Barn Owl ( Tyto alba )

I had the whole day to myself, so I headed for the Yorkshire Wildlife Trust reserve at Stavely, about 5 miles out of Harrogate.  The weather was reasonable so off I set long lens on the camera binoculars round my neck. There was one short shower but I was inside a hide at the time.  A good morning watching the wildlife and back to the car for lunch, then off in the opposite direction.By the time I left the reserve the species count was 32.

Birds seen:

Carrion Crow
Wren
Pheasant
coot
Mallard
Great Tit
Black headed gull
Blackbird
Woodpigeon
Canada Goose
Tufted Duck
Greylag
Mute Swan
Wigeon
Golden Eye
Moorhen
Blue Tit
Dunnock
Reed Bunting
Chaffinch
Buzzard
Sparrowhawk
Magpie
Long Tailed Tit
Cormorant
Little Egret
Teal
Lapwing
Heron
Shoveller
Oyster catcher
Barn Owl

The blip is a poor quality crop of the Barn Owl.  Using the 400mm plus 1.4 convertor it was just a tiny white image in the centre of the frame.  Barely identifiable until you zoomed the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.