Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Another flight of market steps…

These are inside the building at the bottom of Fountain Street. They now lead to Guernsey Registry (and no it isn’t a Register Office as in the mainland; our ‘Register Office’ is called the Greffe) but back in the days when I first worked at the Income Tax Office these stairs led up to a wing that we called the Annexe; in what was once a badminton court. But the steps went beyond the door to the Annexe right up to the roof of the market buildings. My boyfriend also worked in the Annexe and we somehow got hold of the key and used to spend many happy lunchtimes wandering all over the market roof or sitting on the edge of the roof people watching over Fountain Street.
All was well until the day of The Red Arrows display. The boss had some important person in his office and he said he knew the place to get a perfect private viewing. He didn’t expect to find half his staff on the roof. I was right up on the ridge beside the tobacco leaf.
That was the end of that; the key disappeared.
Maybe I should explain that the correct way into the Annexe was via the main door in Fountain Street not up this staircase.

And that’s the month’s Mono Challenge completed but I shall be carrying on until 2 February next year because my challenge was Mono pics every day of my 76th year. And if I am still going strong on mono I’ll be ready for next years mono month. I might even go further and challenge myself to 77 days of mono on the first 77 days of my 77th year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.