JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

I heart civic pride

I'm all for civic pride, and my local community council is all for it too. A welcome sign has been placed on a roundabout on the road in. It's sponsored by a local funeral director, so I guess the message is that people are dying to live here. The local park has new floral beds. It's all go.

It's pretty derivative to use the heart and place name. And the person being copied, not just by this sleepy suburb but by all sorts of places and all sorts of organisations is Milton Glaser. You may not have heard of him, but more people really should. He's the designer of the 'I love New York' logo - the civic pride to beat all others. I'm a tad biased, Glasgow's miles better' is a good one, and Glasgow City Marketing Bureau is launching its latest tomorrow. But of course I love New York stands alone, iconic, and the sender of hundreds of 'cease and desist' letters to copycats. Too obvious of my local area to use the heart. We might heart it, but we can surely express our love in different images, different words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.