SoozaDay

By soozaday

Chasing Rainbows

My iPad automatically updated itself to 17.3.1 the other day, and then Safari began to freeze—couldn’t open anything. Then something odd happened in Mail, and then Messages froze as well. Long story short: a trip to the Apple Store to wipe the device and reinstall factory settings. It took a long time, because they had to try a couple of less invasive things first, but it’s done. It’s left to me to reinstall all my apps. Free advice: if you ever have to do this, take some screen shots of your desktop so you can remember how you had things arranged. Apple restores you with a bunch of bright colors and widgets that give me the gazingas, and now I have to try and recall how I had it all sorted.  Anyway, I’m grateful they were able to fix things for me, even though it wasn’t me who messed it up to start with. The young woman sitting across from me at the help table wept steadily for the entire time I was waiting for my device. I wanted to comfort her somehow, but I had no idea if she was grieving for lost data or a lost love, so I just stayed out of it. She seemed to perk up when she got her phone back.

We are at the start of another storm cycle, and luckily got home before it rained too much. Right now I just hear the wind in the chimes out back. Hope it’s not too bad in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.