Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Uptown Girl

A day when the rain had minimal effect on my activity. Caught a midday train for the matinee of this show that I've been curious to see for a long time. An easy journey there and back, overground and underground services running normally. Gareth picked me up at Chelmsford station this evening for which I was grateful as the constant rain was by then, of the very cold as well as wet variety.

Hamilton was very well choreographed and the performers gave their all in an energetic and entertaining performance, Musicians and singers were great of course and some numbers were breathtaking, not least due to the slick, perfectly timed choreography.  However, for me, there was a lack of overall 'wow'.  Maybe the storyline? Maybe the original musical score?  Maybe because my front row dress circle seat with excellent view was only of moderate comfort for such a long show? Whatever the reason, I was happy to stand up for the final applause, and I am very glad to have seen it - not least as I finally, after more than two months back in Blighty, I finally got myself up town -  but Les Mis is still my fav.  (Watch this space!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.