LIFE!!!

By greengirl

Doom

Chris had taken today off work and we planned to take a walk up to Chaldon (about 5 miles away) to see the “Doom Painting” which is possibly the oldest in England, having been painted around 1200, in the reign of King John. I often visited this little church when I was a teenager, as it was only a few miles from our house. I revisited a few years ago but was disappointed to find the church locked up. Not so today. After the muddiest walk I have been on for a very long time, the rain went off and we arrived at the church in sunshine. It’s on the Pilgrims’ Way and a stamp and some snacks were available for modern day pilgrims. This post has lots of information about the painting, if you are interested: https://www.seeingthepast.com/blog/chaldon-doom-painting

We walked up onto Farthing Downs and into Coulsdon (my old stomping ground!) and caught the bus back. Merry had walked over 8 miles! She’s asleep now, and Chris and Sarah have gone out for a run :-)

I’ll add a few extras of our walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.