SimtuCrostines

By SimtuCrostines

Incomplete Head

We were portrait painting again in art class today! Everyone took a different approach from one another, which made for an interesting array of paint pallettes! My approach meant I didn't manage to get further than the face, but since I was just taking the opportunity to practise flesh tones I didn't really mind. I'm quite pleased with the result, other than some oddness going on with the shape of the nose. I don't think I know many people whose nose bridge is wider than their nostrils, and our model certainly wasn't one of those people in reality.

Our tutor also showed us examples of compositions and narrative used in portrait painting, so that we can consider how to situate the figure outside the studio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.