One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Light dusting, my frozen arse...

When I left the house, the rain was pretty heavy. And definitely cold. But it didn't come as a surprise. There was a rain yellow warning issued by Met Eireann after all. 
Three minutes after I set off, the heavy cold rain turned to heavy sleet. I was glad I had a few layers of clothing under my cycling wets. 
Three minutes later, sleet turned to snow. Pah, thought I, the ground is not cold enough, it won't hold. Perhaps a light dusting but no more. 
By the time I reached Blackrock, the light dusting had turned into deep slush, which soon morphed into deep snow. 
I think I got repetitive strain injury from all the frenetic blinking while cycling in the blizzard. 
By the time I got to Thomas street my face was red raw from the snowflake-blasting. My default complexion ain't exactly pale but I was a nice deep shade of rubicund by the time I arrived at work. 
The morning was three hours of online training (which I could have done just as well from home) but I had a meeting in Theatre at 2.30pm for a tender that I need to publish on Monday. But the CNM I had arranged to meet (she confirmed yesterday) remembered that she finishes at 2pm today. 
I was not a happy camper. 
Still, I stopped at the Free Gym on the way back and then went to see a play locally with Mark (more cycling in the sleet). 
I was conned into enjoying a musical. Although Pat Kinevane says repeatedly (sings, actually, that should have raised my suspicion) "I fucken hate musicals". It actually is a one-man-musical. Which I ended up liking. Very much. I could only keep my guard up for half an hour or so.
Not exactly an average day I guess. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.