The Pensioner

By Pensioner

The Big Sinkers

A trip over to the boat. My new autotiller has arrived so needed wired up and tested. And then a tiller extension to attach too. Tiny wee M3 nuts. And I did that silly thing of balancing something while attending to something else and fumbling. The warning signs all there. I tried again and the nut pinged off, fell to the floor and neatly bounced down the cockpit drain. And did I have a replacement? And was there one in the club workshop? There was not. Idiot.
Later, out to Uncle Vanya at Ocean Terminal with R&E - one of those live theatre events, starring man of the moment Andrew Scott playing all the parts. Rather like Mike Oldfield with his Tubular Bells then - he gets to trouser all the proceeds. Verdict? It was too quiet. I had to concentrate. I mean, that’s unfair. As well as keep up with which character he was playing (nothing as useful as a costumer change, obvs). Blimey it was hard work. And ultimately not really worth the effort  as apart from the undoubted cleverness of his performance, it’s just a play about boredom, lethargy, and regrets. I mean who needs that? Give us a song and dance! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.