OutdoorEd

By OutdoorEd

Ride to the Clouds

The weather was so unstable, from blue skies with storm clouds to overcast in minutes. However, I had to go out and explore, planning about half on road and half untried paths and tracks.

This view appeared a few minutes into the ride, and although I rode through much deeper water later, this gave such a wonderful reflection which really was this colour. Shortly afterwards I turned onto an uphill track which alternated between running water on a gravel bed, to mud that was about 100mm deeper than the tyres and rims. It was a proper workout inching up as the rear wheel gripped and spun, but the bike faithfully responded. On the flat I properly sunk in and had to do a few stretches of carrying, fortunately the bike is light.

Extra picture is looking across Greenham common a little later, showing the moody sky. There is a lot of recent history to be told about the airbase's role during the cold war, but I'll make that a story for another day.

Coffee and a flapjack at The Base cafe / art gallery at Greenham broke the journey, and I'll be back very soon because the Wildlife Photographer of the Year is showing there - was too late to wander round today.

A very low average speed belied the effort involved, and I'm nodding off at 8pm! A grand day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.