Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Owls Again!

Today we planned a trip to RSPB reserve Fairburn Ings, a forty minute drive away but one we have often read about in the RSPB journal. Thankfully the day was bright.

By the time we approached Fairburn Ings the rain had started. When we got there the entry was cordoned off and men were laying Tarmac. They said the road was closed. The Man was furious and phoned the reserve, there had been no mention of closure on the website earlier today. "We put it on social media!" said the lady. She was quickly told that The Man did not do social media and expected the website to be accurate.

She suggested a nearby smaller site; St Aiden's. See Extras We went there but the rain was now torrential so we went in the café and bought lunch. After that we returned to the caravan.

By late afternoon the weather faired up so we went back to the YWT site at Stavely to look for the barn owls again. They didn't disappoint!

We also saw roe deer and about a dozen reed buntings, not a bird I often see and have never blipped so I put one in Extras.

I was having trouble with my camera taking owl shots, the buffering was taking too long for me to get as many shots as I wanted. When I got back to the car I examined the SD card and found that somehow I'd got a slow-write card in. Must look for my better one, I was missing opportunities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.