A day in the life

By Shelling

Celia

There was a quiet and long morning after yesterdays ordeal at the theatre.
I did some first-of-the-month book keeping after lunch and some playing until I had to leave for a friends guitar-concert in Mörbylånga, the next big harbour village fifteen kilometres south from me. 

Classical guitar concerts are rare on the island, especially when they are performed by old friends of mine. Celia Linde is a touring guitarist, about the only woman who has "made it" on the international market. After covid though, her concert opportunities has droppet to nearly nothing and -she has had covid herself three times despite vaccines and still suffers from post covid tiredness. She did a really intimate concert in an old scruffy but home-like café called "Söderbönor", 'Southern beans'. She played for an hour and a half with a break in the middle and afterwards we had a little chat and decided to have lunch at my place tomorrow so we can talk about old and present times for a while before I take her to the train home to Malmö. 

It's so nice to see her, in some way she is a bridge between my time in the university in Malmö where we studied guitar together, and my many years in northern Sweden and now Kalmar. Sad that she doesn't get any guitar-jobs at the moment, niched jobs in the cultural world of Sweden is rare after Covid. Maybe I learn more about her plans tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.