Longshadow

By Longshadow

iPhone 15 Pro Max 2024 review

This collage reflects images captured by the iPhone 15 Pro Max.

The camera function is impressive. It claims to be 48mp but I think 12mp is more accurate which is certainly adequate for most purposes. It has three main lenses which give you an impressive range of 24mm, 48mm and 120mm focal lengths with hardly any degradation of the image. (see above image comparison) There is a super wide 13mm available too and a 25x telephoto too (gets a bit noisy as you would expect) It also has a pretty good macro function that kicks in automatically when moving close to a subject. The camera copes well in low light conditions as well as low light with high contrast. The long exposure capability works really well too. Standard photos look great too!
You can also choose to shoot in RAW.

And it can take very impressive movies as well. The cinematic setting produces images that look just that as well as higher contrast 4k resolution. You can also capture footage in Pro Res Log (Video equivalent of RAW) The microphone is functional but for quality that matches the footage, an external mic would be recommended.

Having this bit of kit in the pocket is great when travelling or for casually taking photos. It certainly is lighter than a DSLR or Mirrorless camera. However, do I want to give up my Nikon equipment? NO! The big cameras can still do more and at a higher level of quality. But for general social media content…..iPhone does a great job.

I appreciate this costs a lot of money but I use this device extensively every day. I use it to read and send emails for both work and personal. The calendar is used for appointments and alerts. The clock facility is for the time, alarms, time zones and stop watches.  I use it to browse and post on social media and general web searches. I make and take phone calls, including video calls. I use all sort of apps for both work and pleasure - these can also be used for real time health purposes. I use it to track luggage and my vehicle. It’s more than a phone. It’s more than a camera. Actually, I think it’s amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.