Beewriter

By Beewriter

Older and Wider

What a brilliant afternoon! If you have never listened to Jenny Eclair and Judith Holder’s podcast, Older and Wider then you must….I’m aiming this at women of a certain age! They are very frank, very funny, very honest, very rude, very brutal…. Today they brought their podcast to the Lowry and it was so funny.

They have a section ‘celebrating’ crafts. They award a hobbyclap or a hobbycrap. On their podcast last week they had asked people to send in their offerings, so I did. I’d had a lovely email back from them and they had said to take mine along. So I did. I’d sent a couple of pics of me swimming in my New Year’s Day hat creations. I only have the Yellow Submarine one as the others have sunk during a swim. I was undecided whether to take it, but I thought ‘what the heck, I might as well’. Well, they had a screen and showed a few different creations and then up came mine…me swimming with the Titanic on my head. Jenny then called out, ‘Belinda, are you here?’ ‘Yes’ I called out. ‘Have you brought the Titanic hat?’ ‘No, but I’ve brought the Yellow Submarine’. ‘Brilliant, come up on the stage’. So I did. Their producer rushed on and snapped a pic which is what I pinched from their instagram post. It was such fun, I loved it.

As we left the theatre a woman behind me said, ‘oooh you’re the hat lady’. It turns out that her son swims at the Quays too. What a fabulous afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.