Pictorial blethers

By blethers

When the plumber comes to call ...

You feel you have to get up early. After all, what if he wants to turn the water off? You need to have your breakfast, and perform your ablutions with all that that wonderful noun encompasses, and be clothed and in your right mind when he arrives. Don't you? We thought so. We were having the kitchen mixer tap replaced; I don't know if I mentioned that just after Christmas I noticed a wee wire sticking out of the tap and gave it a gentle pull. I came away in my hands and I thought no more about it - till later that evening, when suddenly half a dozen tiny mesh filters (about the size of an old-fashioned 6d) fell into the sink and with them any attempt to control the flow, which since then has randomly sprayed the end of the kitchen whenever we forgot and turned it on to hard. That tap.

In the event, we needn't have bothered with any but the door-opening. The tap already had an off-switch, so to speak, and no turning off of the water was needed. The plumber left a couple of hours later. Because of various minor complications he wasn't away till after 11am, meaning we'd to wait for our coffee in order to get peace with it. I certainly needed the energy to restore four crates-full of cleaning stuff, liquids, gels, and felt as if I'd had a workout just before 11ses...  After elevenses we turned our attention to the cruise in September, choosing excursions and arguing over which looked best. 

And now I've written three undeniably odd sentences (and then deleted them so don't go looking) about the weather and the passage of time. I've been up an unconscionable time and I'm falling off the stool. I shall take some dope tonight.

My blip is the only photo I took today - I was barely over the chilly threshold other than for choir this evening.   It shows the first glimpse of the sunrise before the cloud came over and reduced the day to a rather grim greyness with a biting easterly wind. I've had to log back in to Facebook because of the Meta outage during the day, and I'm back to typing nonsense with my eyes shut. 

Enough. Goodnight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.