ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'Windlust', Wolvega

'WOL-ve-gah'!  Was the town frequented by wolves?  Hm.  Research has revealed that the 'wolf' version is the romantic version -- 'region of the wolves', and wolves indeed roamed the area as late as four centuries ago, together with wild boar and pigs, and there were even wolf hunts, but 13th-century documents explain that the name comes from the ancient family who owned some prime real estate here.

A really long drive to reach this, and, this time, the music in the car was set at a just about bearable decibel level, and I blasted along with it.  You can see that the sky is a mixture of blue and grey, and it was like that all throughout.  Never mind, I got my mill, squeezed as it was in a tight residental area, but the scenery going there and back was worth it.  For a flat country, it is lovely and geographically varied.  I'm terribly biased.

Before I left, supermarket errands, and then kitchen duties after dinner.  I'm on my last MOOC, and it should be done by end of this coming week, when, as it happens, the subscription ends, too.  Very deliberate planning, yes.  Thankful for hunting weather and for a pervasive feeling of relief.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.