BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Maintaining Silence

The days slip by.
We don't phone.
Nor do we exchange
texts. Why

is that I wonder?
You'd think we'd have
something to say by now.
Are you the sender

of the latest email
to reach my inbox? No!
It's from a 'solicitor'
name of Gail

Gill who says I am
the sole beneficiary
in a mysterious will.
I consign it to spam

and block her. When, I
ponder, are you intending
to return? Maybe you won't.
I want you to but can't deny

that your sudden departure, overnight,
while I, in a stupor, slept, does not
bode well. We'd had a row. So what.
It's not unusual for us to fight.

Anyway, I can guess where you've
gone. (How is your lovely sister!).
I'm tempted to WhatsApp 'I love
you' but NO! First move

must come from you. Maybe I will
contact Gail Gill.
If I am due a large fortune
you'll soon change your tune.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.