just an ordinary day....

By laineylou3

The A9

I have been very familiar with this main trunk road as long as I can remember. Part of my life as a passenger in the back of mum and dad's car, feeling slightly sick, and the rest, driving it in all kinds of weather. On more than one occasion I've had to turn back as snow gates were closed, or sit, for what felt like hours, waiting for road works, caravans, snow ploughs, sheep, deer. 

We seem to be up and down it a lot at the moment. Plans are afoot for the cottage up north and of course, it's not the dead of winter anymore. 

The A9 is not a particularly good, or actually safe road and despite many promises, it's unlikely to be dualed any time soon - or indeed, at all I think. 
The fact that it is the link between the north and south/central belt doesnt really seem to matter to the powers that be. (Who are, of course, based in the south and central belt !) 
Having said all that, it is vastly improved from the road we travelled when I was a child and the views are stunning . I'm pretty sure I could drive it with my eyes closed. You will, I'm sure, be glad to hear I was the passenger on this journey. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.