Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

More Clouds

Another damp gloomy morning, but the sun has finally come out full force. It is most welcome both as a mood elevator and a source of heat as it shines through the bedroom door.

We had our final inspection of the heat pump today, this time the county I think. This was the third inspection...we don't even know who did the last one, or why. The fellow didn't hang around long, but maybe it was because he didn't seem to know what he was inspecting. It sounded like he thought it was just a furnace replacement. He seemed more interested in Spike than in the heat pump. With any luck we can now get our rebates, although one of them from Sonoma Green Energy has already dropped from $2000 to $500 since it was instituted. 

I think Katie the physical therapist was a bit overly enthusiastic in her ministrations yesterday, as I got very little sleep last night. I don't think the night time pain syndrome can possibly be caused by lack of movement as when I wasn't tossing and turning I was on my feet. Muscles adjusting and adapting to a new knee are asserting themselves and I took to them today with my trusty massage gun. Everyone nods their heads when I mention this  as if it is extremely common, but nobody seems to have any thoughts about how to alleviate it. Pain meds don't seem to help that much, although I am acquiring a drawer full of little pill bottles. One more thing I have to figure out how to dispose of.

Physical Therapy again tomorrow. I've never really bought into the 'no pain, no gain' story, but in this case it seems to be true. Increasing flexion and extension is essential at this stage to prevent the formation of scar tissue, and there doesn't seem to be any way to do it without pain. 

I'm reading a delightful book, Twenty Chickens for a Saddle  by  Robyn Scott about a free spirited family living in Botswana. Just the thing....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.