Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Remedios Varo

This morning was spent working on my Tunisia Blurb book. I was able to upload both it and our family year book and get the 40% discount. It was worth it to wait as I buy the daughters the year book - it’s mainly photos of the family and they never have hard copies of any of their photos.

The hospital phoned to say they were postponing my skin cancer plastic surgery procedures. I was going in next week. Hopefully I won’t have too long to wait.

This afternoon Chrissie introduced the Art Appreciation group to the work of surrealist painters Remedios Varo and Leonora Carrington. It was so interesting. I was particularly taken with Varo’s work. She was influenced by, among others, Hieronymus Bosch. She mainly stuck to the warm terracotta colours in the lower picture but I did like the complexity of the top painting too. I knew little of surrealism apart from
Dali and didn’t think I’d like it but it pays to keep an open mind. I learned a lot.

Ros and Geoff have health problems and have decided to give up convening the group. So far nobody has stepped up. I won’t be offering as we are going to be scarcely at home this year. We have lots of travel plans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.