europhoric

By europhoric

Leuven

Today I took a day trip to Leuven to meet up with Alastair, who I know from Edinburgh yet comes from Belgium, albeit with Scottish roots. (A true European - confused!) Before the inevitable beer consumption, I had a few hours to explore the town.

Leuven is a small city in Flemish Brabant, the region which totally encircles Brussels. It's a university town - a kind of Belgian Cambridge or Uppsala - and despite its small size is very much the vibrant and interesting place due to its massive student population. As well as boasting the Oude Markt - a long row of old guildhouses now known fondly as "Europe's longest bar" - Leuven also has a particularly lovely collection of old Flemish architecture (see above).

The girls who share my building back in Brussels tell me this is the place to party in Belgium, which seems impressive considering my very enjoyable nights out in Liège, so I'm sure I'll be back with more money and less dignity soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.