Kipsie

By Kipsie

Ice blue

Bitterly cold easterly winds accompanied Indie & I on our walk. I was kitted out for it though in my new trapper hat. Mum thought it was hilarious. It kept me very warm. The DWT volunteers were working on the heath yesterday, the results of which were evident today. The perimeter undergrowth has been cleared by a mini tractor by the looks of it, fallen trees cut, logs piled up, & burning. Blackened gorse, looks horrid. I'm amazed they still burn, but what do I know. After the heath we walked down to the river Bovey along the old railway track where I retrieved the runner bean sticks I'd stashed in the undergrowth. I had the foresight to pack string in my pocket today so was able to bundle it up for carrying home to the village.
A few chored for Mum including making sure her lunch was sorted then an appointment with the Community support lady, Charlotte, at teh Chudleigh surgery to discuss Mum's/my needs. She gave me phone numbers that I already have but it's prompted me to make some calls.
Back home, too early for lunch so I walked up to the allotment with the kitchen waste for the compost heap, picked some herbs, & black kale, fed the birds, then back to base, made lunch, picked in the washing after as it felt like rain, before mowing the grass, cutting back the rugosa roses, & pulling a few weeds out. Sorted out the trays of stored apples, quite few have rotted off. Dropped hubby off at the pub, got the steak & kidney  in the oven on a low heat, did a bit of paperwork before sitting down to watch The Chase. I made a batch of apple muffins from a recipe in a magazine, did'nt have maple syrup so I subbed with sugar. Very disappointing. That recipe went in the bin. Picked hubby up from the pub, back to watch Richard Osman, an entertaining half hour before completing dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.