Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Do you hear the people sing?

oh perfect day!

After seeing Hamilton last week, and commenting on how, whilst I enjoyed it, Les Mis is my unrivalled fav, I checked my Blipfoto journal to find that I last saw it in 2016, (here) so promptly booked a ticket for today's matinee. Centre of dress circle - perfect seat. What I didn't realize until the show started is that it is a 'new' (2020) production. There are significant changes to set, staging, blocking, some obviously embracing latest technology with amazing projection (eg:the underground scene). The giant revolving barricade is now gone. Other changes too, but of course absolutely no change to the wonderful music and the quality of performance - a cast of astonishing talent. All of them, however, fairly sure it was the best Javert (Stuart Clarke) I've ever seen - very powerful. Jean Valjean (Peter Joback) was of course superb - it takes a special kind of voice to do "Bring Him Home" - and my tears flowed as he sang. In fact, I was transfixed from start to finish. I may have to go again before returning to Turkey.

Bro met me at Chelmsford station and we went to the Gardeners for dinner and couple of pints which was a perfect end to a perfect day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.