Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Problem solved and BIG walk

Today Archie and I went down to the Apple shop. Sometimes the photos on my iPhone are very saturated. Very very saturated, and Archie's beard, while it hasn't been white since he was a wee lad, comes out orange or brown. Our gold cushions come out dark rust coloured, yellow daffodils are deep orange (Extra 2) It's very annoying. In fact, I know quite a lot of the photos in Australia were over-saturated, I could fiddle with them, but I didn't know how to fix the initial shot.. (eg Extra 1)

I had been down to the Apple shop a month or so ago to ask about this, and a staff member (one of their 'geniuses'), when I showed him two photos taken at the same time were completely different, told me it was just that light changes all the time, or some waffle like that.

But the chap who helped today knew exactly where to fix it, in the (quite hidden) settings. Thank you!

I was SO pleased when we left, that I decided to walk into the Old Town and up the Royal Mile, hopefully to have a sit down and lovely coffee in the Milkman. I had two chances, as there are two Milkmans (Milkmen) on Coburn Street, one at the top and one at the bottom… and they were both jam-packed!!

We trudged on up the Mile. Lots going on - buskers, the woman with metal all over her face and body, a Gaza war protest group, a man playing a fiddle with a wee dog that wanted to play with Archie, and the obligatory piper, possibly just practising, judging by the frequent dud notes...

The bus wasn't due for ages, so I decided to keep on walking, and we actually walked all the way home!!  I was absolutely STUFFED! (8,601 steps) I was listening to an ABC podcast, which helped me to forget my pains - ‘A short history of economics’ which might sound a bit boring, but it was SO interesting!!

And, for the first time ever, I paused at the wee pizza van. '£5 for a Margherita' said a voice from the van. (There were no £5 pizzas on the menu). Irresistible. I sat at the nearest bus stop to eat half of it while it was hot.

Archie and I have dozed all afternoon. He's tired after running around for a while at 2am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.