If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Lesser Scaup ( Aythya affinis )

We finally treated ourselves to a day we have been talking about taking for a couple of months, a day at RSPB Leighton Moss.  After a slightly late start we arrived and opted for an early lunch before setting off for the lower hide.  Clickychick always wants to visit the lower hide as we once saw Otters there.  I had no objections.  I am not by any means a "twitcher" (for those who don't know a twitcher is driven by adding another rare species to their life list.)but when handed a rarity on a plate then who am I to refuse.

There had been reports from the bird club all week about a Lesser Scaup on the lagoon at the lower hide.  When we arrived at the hide it was almost full and soon became standing room only.  I would to have known the value of glass in the form of long lenses assembled there.  I succeeded  in getting some shots.

When we got back to the centre CC went for a rest in the car while I visited two other hides.  When I returned we rounded off the day with coffee and cake.

I have put two extras a Treecreeper and male Teal.

The species seen were;

Pheasant
Greylag
Robin
Mute Swan
Cormorant
Greater Black Backed Gull
Mallard
Coot
Moorhen
Teal
Gadwall
Lesser Scaup
Tufted Duck
Goldcrest
Black headed gull
Shoveler
Blackbird
Dunnock
Carrion Crow
Canada Goose
Goldeneye
Little Egret
Pintail
Snipe
Treecreeper
Bullfinch
Chaffinch
Blue Tit
Great Tit
Marsh Harrier
Woodpigeon
Collared Dove

Heard but not seen booming Bitterns

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.