MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Pig(eon) In The Middle

Horrible wet day today. I grabbed the camera at lunchtime when I heard a plaintiff sound. It was a fledgling blackbird calling to its parents. It was quite fearless and flew into a tree in a dark corner of the garden. I got a 'noisy' pic of a noisy bird. I need a faster long lens. :)

Tried again this evening under leaden skies in the rain. This pigeon was sitting on the ridge of the glasshouse looking fed-up. I do know that it appreciated the symmetry of its position. Pigeons can learn to distinguish symmetrical from asymmetrical patterns in a concept-like way which used to be thought an exclusively human competence.

What a shame that a rare visitor to these shores, the White-throated Needletail (Hirundapus caudacutus) was killed on Harris by a wind turbine. :(



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.