Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

There were no heron around when I arrived at the loch this morning. I spoke to one of my regular dog walkers who said it was really strange not to see any. I told her about my theory at the weekend and that I would probably see one or two at the water's edge. Sure enough when I got to the edge of the loch the little female (pictured) flew over.  She was in luck and got two large fillets of fish. The adult male then flew over so I started feeding him, then Hyde came over but the male chased her. She flew straight over to the slope so I went over to feed her.  She was joined by the young adult with the dark patch, the male adult and another young adult (the little female didn't join them but I think she'd had enough.. I was able to feed the rest on the slope . I then went back to the water's edge in case any coots were around, three swam over (two at one location and one at another). I gave them all a biscuit and fed the crows as well. All in all there were 5 heron around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.