Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

When You Wish Upon a Rock

Yes, I admit it, I love to look for interesting rocks in my travels and bring them home.  This is a collection I have on my windowsill.  I like rocks with different colors, rings and holes. The one with holes I found in the Arran Islands in Ireland.  A Hag Stone, also known as an adder stone, is a stone that has a naturally occurring hole through it. Such stones were, and sometimes still are, believed to have magical properties. These supposedly include the ability to heal a snake bite or see through the disguise of a witch or fairy by looking through the hole.  The flat one on the left is an arrowhead I found at my house when they were doing some excavations years ago.  The one with two white rings is known as a wishing stone.  With this one I get two wishes!  I wish the 3-4 inches of snow we got last night melts quickly!  In the extras, I've added a cairn I made with stones I've gathered from all over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.