HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Axed

Still some left to do, but most of the birch in here chopped.

Today I became a Hyvönen (my husband's last name attached to mine). The Hyvönen clan is from the countryside and they have been chopping wood for decades over there. Almost everyone of the clan has suffered some kind of injury with an axe or a billhook or the sorts. Even my husband's kid sister is missing a tip of her finger and she's a piano teacher.

Can you guess where the story is going?

I had to try the new axe. (Well I did try a shotgun some years ago at the countryside.) How hard can it be? Turns out it can be. I got some logs just fine. Thought that I can do it. And then I hit my ankle with the axe. Oh yes. I did that.

Luckily I had ankle high boots on, so the boot took most of the axe, but I have a decent size bruise and it hurts.It's the same leg as the knee problem, so I can imagine the doctor grabbing my ankle when looking at the knee and I can tell the doctor that my ankle is also a bit sore as I hit it with an axe.

Needless to say I didn't continue my blossoming career as a lumberjack. 

I just piled the logs into this nice formation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.