David J. Rose

By djrose007

Happy Mothering Sunday

To give it it's proper name but nonetheless, the fact that we recognise the value of mothers everywhere is a great day worth celebrating. Interesting to look up it's origins, which are at THIS LINK.
And I always thought it was a religious day to do with the Blessed Virgin Mary.

We had a visit today from Johanna, Ruby and Eric, who are pictured in the photograph behind the mother and child musical gift that Johanna brought for Marlane.
She also had cards from Daniel, Julia and the children (I'm sure there's a special 'Grandmothers' day sometime during the year) but it was lovely to get them as the children make the cards themselves.
Despite pulling a painful muscle in my lower back, right hand side, yesterday while moving some garden furniture to start a spring clean of the garden, I managed to make a rather sumptuous Sunday lunch. I peeled the potatoes and onions last night and prepared the small joint of Belly Pork (Marlane's favourite). I also made the mixture for Yorkshire puddings last night with the garlic granules, Oregano, Sage, Salt and Pepper, that I always put in my Yorkshire mix. So apart from the Pork and Yorkshires we had Air Fryer Roast Potatoes, the Belly Pork was also done in the Air Fryer (aren't they just brilliant!), Yorkshire in the oven, Mashed potato with lots of butter and a splash of milk, peas and french beans.
I was ok making the dinner, it's bending over that I can't do, and difficult to stand after sitting down. Oh, and I've also had a terrible sore throat for about 4 days now, can't lie on my back as the swelling blocks my air-passage! I'll get over it, always do, and I'm so glad that Marlane and Johanna had a nice day.
Oh, nearly forgot, I didn't make a dessert as I knew Johanna had made some delicious scones and brough fresh and clotted cream with her and some very nice jam.
I always do jam first, cream on top. Can't really understand how you can spread the jam onto the cream, unless it's a bit runny. Maybe someone can enlighten me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.