Scribbler

By scribbler

Peacefully Old

Vera (just turned 72), water aerobics instructor and yoga student.

I've never seen Vera in a bad mood, and I've never heard her complain. She carries her own peace inside her. It's hard to have a conversation with her that doesn't include the word gratitude, frequently coupled with the word retirement.

Her skin, which I haven't done justice to here, is a rich warm very dark brown that makes every color she wears look fabulous on her. She has a vast collection of hats and always looks sporty, often in bright shades like orange and magenta. I discovered when I asked her to pose for me today that she doesn't have a self-conscious bone in her body. That's another aspect of her inner peace.

Getting old doesn't scare Vera. She's grateful to have gotten this far, and grateful for what she has and can do.

Vera often calls women Lady so she doesn't have to worry if she forgets our names. If she likes you especially and is feeling affectionate, she might call you Ladybug, which is what she calls her sister. I hope she calls me Ladybug after she sees this blip.

PEACEFUL: DDW challenge
OLD: TerriG challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.