CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

SPATHE ROCKET

I'm getting very fed up with the dreary, heavily overcast and rainy days we're having here. I've just checked the day-by-day forecast and apparently we may get sunny intervals next Sunday. I do hope they're being overly pessimistic and we see some sunlight before then. It's just not worth taking the camera outdoors and so here, at the end of the day, is a spathe (flower spike) on my Leopard Lily which I noticed had appeared a couple of days ago. Not only that but another one had opened, flourished and closed up again without me noticing. I don't know what critters would fertilise them in the wild, but I don't think I have them in my kitchen so it's all to no avail.
One reason I hadn't spotted them is that the plant is now so tall that I had to wobble at the top of some steps to blip this, not with flash but with extra lights pointing at it. As soon as the weather improves and the new conservatory is usable I'll be repotting this plant and moving it out there before it takes over the kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.