The Way I See Things

By JDO

Fine

It was fine this morning, which was a major improvement on yesterday, and I was raging to be out and about, but it was still pretty dull and overcast, and after checking all of my birding and weather apps I couldn't see any real prospect of a decent birding walk. So when R said that he needed to go into Stratford I tagged along for the ride, river walk, coffee, and cake.

As soon as we stepped out of the front door I heard the noise of bickering hairy-footed flower bees, and found two males in the front border, winding each other up as they both searched for the females which still haven't yet emerged. I hope that some show up soon, before these boys are too tired and slow to catch them, or their chance of fathering some of the next generation will be gone.

Stratford produced nothing much worth photographing (though BTP's carrot cake was excellent, as usual), and by the time we got home the plumpies had dematerialised, the light had deteriorated, and even a diligent search of the garden with my macro binoculars turned up nothing more interesting than a couple of house flies. So it's lucky that I saw this gorgeous little chap before we set out, and was able to bank the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.