Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Mundane

I had a mad notion to write "Mondane" there, but restrained myself to avoid confusion as to my state of mind ...

Monday. Grey and raw, but not actually wet. I should have hung out a washing after all. Instead, I lurked idly in bed for longer than I meant to. Our Pilates teacher is off sick , so my Monday morning felt horribly purposeless; I should have kept to my routine and done a set of exercises after breakfast but was spurred instead to do extra Italian, goaded on by the knowledge that my social life last week had led to my sliding down into the Obsidian league (if you use Duolingo you'll know that after well over a year that's an occasion of great shame...)

After coffee I went out to drop off a prescription request at the surgery letter-box and set off briskly to walk off the big lump of Colin the Caterpillar that I'd just had with my coffee. This led to my going in to my newly-returned-from-antipodean-holiday friend Paddy's for tea and catch-up, as well as a shared marvelling at how well my intercessions yesterday matched the points in her sermon; we confessed that we'd both been ticking them off as we listened to one another. 

A modest lunch - thin piece of brown toast with guacamole and some thin slices of Italian sausage - was followed by more Italian (I had some double points to use up). The piano tuner arrived - he lives in Brazil but still tunes pianos here; his being a former pupil of us both tends to lead to much chat and banter in several languages (he's on Duo too). I went out again, having realised I was running out of potatoes - and that was it. The gloom was deepening and it was time to call it a day. A short set of exercises before dinner (physical, not language!) and that was it. I caught up on Trigger Point final episode and then fell asleep over the news. I'm more awake now ...

Photo, the only one I took, is of the high tide breaking on a black rock just below the promenade along East Bay. I love the look of the water drops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.