Allotment 2022 onwards

By misetak

Learning to graft fruit trees

Today was my post-exam marking treat - a Wisley course learning how to graft apple trees.  It was great fun with wonderful and very patient instructors and only one plaster was needed from the first aid kit.  No, it wasn't me and not bad for an activity where we were instructed to cut towards ourselves!!
Even more exciting is that we got to choose the varieties - a vast selection of eaters, cookers and even cider apples - and then we could bring 2 home with us.
My plan, if they survive, is to grow them as espaliers on the allotment, so I have  Colonel Yates and Mere de Ménage.  They are both cookers and spur bearers.  Looking forward to an apple pie in about 4 years time!!  
The extra is a collage from my meandering around the gardens after the course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.