Igor

By Igor

Carmageddon

I have a love/hate relationship with cars. Driving past the car-dealership area of MK today, I was struck by the vast number of vehicles parked, and double parked, on the roads and verges.  All new and waiting for someone to buy them.

I was at a junction as a convoy of car-transporters attempted to negotiate the already busy road.  The title just came into my head, realised with a little help from Nik Color Efx.

I’m taken back to my first car - purchased for £40 in 1965.  A 1954 A40 Somerset; it had a bench seat in the front and 3 forward gears, with the gear lever on the steering column.  Changing gear required mastery of a technique known as double de-clutching.  Younger blippers may have to ask their grand-parents about this.

After a couple of weeks the engine failed.  A trip to the scrap yard and £10 bought me a replacement.   A friend who knew a thing or two about cars, helped me take the old one out and fit the new one.

The car gave me freedom to get outside my home town. A convoy of us would drive 40 miles on a Friday night to go 10-pin bowling in Brighton.  Or to parties in London.  Happy days.  And days of innocence.

I know life would be difficult for lots of people without them.  Us included. The fun part though, for me at least, is over.

Best large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.