JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Millie's happy place

Well, what else would she do on a day like this? It's rained almost all day again, and her chair, wedged between J's wheelchair and the warm radiator, is her favourite place. I'd like to say J's lap is her happy place, and she is indeed often very contented and calm there for long periods, but when the heating is switched on, the toasty hot radiator generally trumps the human warmth.

J's PA M is not well, so I've done little today beyond showering, dressing and all the other bits of everyday care, and feeding her each long, slow meal; and then there were little cakes to eat of course! Days like this are quite peaceful and pleasant, if I can avoid feeling frustrated that I'm not getting anything done; but on days when I expected a few hours in which to work through a list, I struggle to remember that caring is the most essential work I do, not a distraction from all the other things. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.