JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Portobello Beach Edinburgh Day 304

For all those of you concerned about my running fitness yesterday you may think someone had decided to close the road to the beach to prevent me jogging on the sands today! Nothing to do with me - honest!

This road closure this morning was in preparation for a seaside event optimistically called Here Comes Summer. There will be fun for all the family from lunchtime onwards today centred around the Portobello Baths.

This G4S official was very friendly and turns out to be one of us - an Edinburgh Blipper. He may check this entry and reveal his identity but for the time being I am appreciative of his letting me take his blip to be the subject of my blip today. His shift here lasts until noon today and while I was chatting with him we were joined by the icecream vendor, and his daughter, who has had a pitch on this road for 34 years and was full of fascinating anecdotes about life on the Promendade. He made me laugh when I was asking him about the view from his ice cream van with his retort : I have seen enough sea and sand to never ever want to go on a seaside holiday ever again! He then told me that he always holidays on the Costas for the Spanish sunshine! The nearest we will get to any Costa effect here today, I fear, will be of the coffee variety.

I am looking forward to meeting some more blippers at 1500 tomorrow on the beach at the end of Bath Street. Full details from Shandoner here Edinburgh Blip Meet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.