Living my dream

By Mima

A bowl of summer

Bean has celebrated no pee accidents by chasing pheasants today. 

She put up two hens first, down by the creek just as we started our walk. 

She spent the remainder of the walk on High Alert, leaping on unsuspecting twigs and clumps of grass. It is so disappointing when they don't sprout feathers and fly away in a flap.

As we walked back over the creek just before getting home again, she dashed off into the undergrowth under the bridge and flushed out the cock pheasant, who flew off clacking loudly. 

Bean stood watching as he disappeared into the gorse on the hillside, then turned to me as if to say "What now?" I told her what a clever dog she was, which resulted in leaping, wiggling and squeaking "I am. I really am! I'm so clever. I'm so pleased with myself!" 

Bonkers.

I picked tomatoes yesterday and before processing some of them I noticed the sun shining onto and through the bowl. What joyful colours. 

I have made a tomato and olive flan (an adaptation of a Yottam recipe) and a turnover with the excess pastry and filling. The flan will be sliced and become frozen Mima Ready Meals, and I'll eat the turnover tomorrow.

More tomatoes went into a summer veg soup (with courgettes, garlic, onion, carrots and potatoes) which is also destined for the freezer after I've put it through the mouli in the morning.

It's been a good day. Nothing unexpected happened. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.