David Nichols

By davidnichols

Aero L-29 Delfín At Zatec Airport

Today after doing cross-country emergency procedures (lots of fun by the way), we stopped at my instructor's home airport, Zatec (LKZD) where some of his jet pilot friends were about to take off in this Aero L-29 Delfin jet. What a noise that plane makes! Incredible. They offered me a ride, but it costs about 250 dollars for 30 minutes or so. On the flight back to Sazena my instructor Jirka told me that we could really get some adrenaline going if I want to fly with him - rolls and inverted flying and stuff. I believe him :-)

After that I flew with my friend Al in a Cessna 150 to Benesov (LKBE) to get something to drink. An hour and a half in the car - 39 minutes in our little airplane. It was my first navigation flight, and was very interesting. We saw some really awesome planes at the airport there, and I got to go up in the tower and check out how it works up there when we went to pay for our landing fee (50 crowns, about $2.50 USD). Then the restaurant and bar were closed for a private party, so we flew back to Sazena without getting our drink.

On the way back, while flying through controlled airspace, there was a thunderstorm over Prague, and Kbely control gave us vectors around the thundercloud. That was pretty cool.

All in all a very good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.