The second half of life..

By twigs

Monty the Monarch Caterpillar

I'm a mumma!!!

All summer the Monarchs have been flitting through, over and round my garden.  A swan plant had set itself in a border and I've left it there (as per my 'live and let live' philosophy towards gardening....though only when it suits me!).  I've seen a few Monarchs settling onto it and once, just once, I was able to find a teeny, tiny egg.  Lo and behold, whilst out there last evening I spotted this wee thing munching on a leaf.  I went out this morning to see if I could find my baby - thinking maybe the crazy winds or a bird might have gobbled him up but nooooo........there he was!  No munching on leaves today but instead, clinging very tightly to the leaf so as not to get blown off.  Bless him.  Judging by his size I'd say he might be a 3rd instar caterpillar and if so, it might be another week or more until he pupates.  It's going to be an interesting week or so!  Sure do hope the little fella survives.  Let's see what the next few days bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.