There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Amphibian Follies in the Barrens!

It was sunny and warm, and I suspected there might be amphibian activity in the vernal ponds in the Barrens. So of course, you know where I went: to my favorite little pond, to check things out. 

I could hear the good news long before I got there. For amphibian song greeted me even before I reached the parking lot. Here there be frogs! Lots of 'em!

They quieted down some by the time I got there, as they always do, but as I stood quietly, they perked right back up again, and they humored me by going about their amphibious business, even though I was watching, with camera.

The pond was alive with amphibians! Chasing each other, lolling on the surface, soaking up the sunny rays. Every single dot on the surface was an amphibian. My pond was alive, and teeming with frogs! It was Frog-Fest 2024! And I was there!

Here is a shot of two amphibians. There is a log on the side of the pond nearest the trail where they like to hang out. I suspect, based on the heft of the creature we're looking at, that this might be a bullfrog, but I'm not sure. (Look at that bulky abdomen, the thick thighs.) It's just sitting there, enjoying the day. As one does.

And just to this side of the log is another amphib, who has just hopped down from the log, and is getting into its back-stroke. Hello, you of the flying frog-legs. Good job, hello, and well met!

My soundtrack song is Bruce Springsteen, with Waitin' On a Sunny Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.