MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

The World Is Your Oyster ...

... said MrQ to our Dubai bound grandson the other day. Very perspicacious of him I thought, as these days he gets extremely confused. He then went on to talk about how much he loves oysters. We all agreed that it's a shame that the seafood stand where I used to get them for him is no longer there.

Yesterday, when I took my camera in, I parked at Waitrose. I was delighted to see that they sell Loch Fyne gigas oysters and bought half a dozen for MrQ.

How strange that places to eat oysters in London were today featured in the City A.M paper that is delivered with our newspapers. J.Sheekey was mentioned. MrQ took his mother and me there in the late sixties. His tiny little mum ate a dozen!

I shucked them without losing a single drop of the precious ‘juice’, made some shallot mignonette and served them to him for lunch. He said they were heavenly.

I like oysters too. The ones I have enjoyed most were natives that I had at The Company Shed on Mersea Island when I was on a run with the car club.  
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.