Melisseus

By Melisseus

Rolling Stone

Not a perfect day for cycling - a bit grey and a bit blustery - but a lot better than many others recently and I managed a 38km amble. I passed some interesting things but failed to take satisfying pictures of any of them

A pretty cottage with a Tudor rose on the lintel (why? I can't remember); an impressive country mansion, built in 1700, with high arches, a bell tower and slit windows that look like candles; a yew tree on a village green, the girth of which I estimate at ten metres*; the river Glyme - the most meandering river I have ever encountered, despite its short life from just outside Chipping Norton to a confluence with the Evenlode, just before they join the Thames

In the end, I stopped for a banana beside a moss-coated stone wall and an ancient barn (oh, and opposite an elephant - a wooden one). For me, the picture works better than any of them 

*Did you know there is a body
called 'The Ancient Yew Group'? They don't seem to have noticed this one - I'll let them know and see what happens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.