Happy Provincetown

I am on Cape Cod for a family wedding and have taken a strong liking for Provincetown. There is no ugly 20th Century architecture such as tall buildings, a downtown bypass road, or large public monuments. It's larger than I was expecting, and everything is related to the sea, since this is the very tip of the narrow cape and far from the mainland.

This is where the Pilgrims (some of whom were my ancestors) stopped briefly before finally landing at Plymouth in 1620. On that occasion the women and children exercised and gathered clams along the beach.

The streets are thick with tourists like me, and friendly locals in spite of heavy fog, some rain, and a little too much breeze for strolling on the waterfront. The seafood here is as good as it gets, my favorite being "steamers" (soft-shelled Ipswich clams.) This particular variety is not available where I live, even in pricey restaurants. They're very special, quite delicious.

This jolly cyclist was promoting a theater production called "Love" that took place later in the day at the Unitarian church. It is very clear that Provincetown shares the joy of victory in this week's Supreme Court rulings in support of same-sex marriage.

Today will bring my niece's wedding, grey skies, and smiles all around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.