Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Wicked

This week's theatre trip was to see Wicked at the Apollo Victoria.   I was curious as it has good reviews. Both visually and for performance energy it did not disappoint. Costumes, set, and lighting all impressive - a colourful feast for the eye - quite the spectacle.  Musicians and singers were of course, excellent, as you'd expect for London West End. The theatre, built in 1930, is huge (2328 seats!) and spacious. My seat in the stalls, was comfortable with an excellent view of the stage.  The audience was almost entirely middle school aged children, and their enthusiasm gave the whole show an almost panto feel at times so it was all good for a fun afternoon - but tbh, whilst I am always glad to see live theatre, including such a popular show,  I have no need to see this one again. 

The journey in both directions was very smooth, and coming home, with Gareth meeting me at Chelmsford station, we were in the Gardeners pub for dinner and a couple of pints by 7pm, just 90 minutes after I'd left the theatre. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.